Bitcoin-only & air-gapped hardware wallets
Devices built mainly for Bitcoin, several of which can sign without ever being plugged into a computer.
Specs as checked on 2026-10-26 on each manufacturer's own site; every cell links to the page it came from. Prices change often and exclude shipping and tax. Anything we could not confirm on a manufacturer page is marked unverified.
| Spec | COLDCARD Mk5 | COLDCARD Q | BitBox02 | BitBox02 Nova | Blockstream Jade Core | Blockstream Jade Plus | Keystone 3 Pro | Passport Prime |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $219 [source] | $319 [source] | $167 [source] | $196 [source] | $99 [source] | $169 (store); $169.99 on the product overview page [source] | $149 (pre-order, 1-year coverage) [source] | $349 [source] |
| Screen | Gorilla Glass screen, numeric keypad (size/resolution not stated on product page) unverified | 3.2" LCD, 320×240, full QWERTY keyboard [source] | 128×64 white OLED, capacitive touch sensors (diagonal not stated) [source] | 128×64 white OLED with glass top (diagonal not stated) [source] | 1.9" IPS LCD, 320×170 colour [source] | 1.9" IPS LCD, 320×170 colour [source] | 4" LCD touchscreen, 480×800 [source] | 3.5" IPS touchscreen, Gorilla Glass [source] |
| Connectivity | MicroSD, NFC, USB-C, Virtual Disk [source] | QR scanner, dual MicroSD, NFC, USB-C; USB/NFC data can be irreversibly blocked [source] | USB-C (desktop and Android) [source] | USB-C and Bluetooth LE (for iPhone/iPad) [source] | USB-C, Bluetooth [source] | USB-C, Bluetooth, camera (QR), SD card / USB drive via JadeLink [source] | USB-C listed; Air-Gapped Mode; microSD slot (card not included). QR camera not stated on the pages checked [source] | USB-C, NFC, Bluetooth (QuantumLink), camera for QR [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, two: Microchip ATECC608 + Maxim DS28C36B [source] | Yes, two: Microchip ATECC608 + Maxim DS28C36B [source] | Yes, dual-chip design with ATECC608B secure chip [source] | Yes, OPTIGA Trust M V3, EAL6+ certified [source] | No hardware SE: "virtual secure element" (blind-oracle PIN server) [source] | No hardware SE: "virtual secure element" (blind-oracle PIN server) [source] | Yes, three secure elements [source] | Yes, security processor (Microchip SAMA5D2) + secure element [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Source code public since 2018 (licence terms not checked here) [source] | Source code public since 2018 (licence terms not checked here) [source] | Yes, firmware fully open source [source] | Yes, firmware fully open source [source] | Yes, fully open source [source] | Yes, fully open source [source] | Yes ("100% open source") [source] | Yes, open-source hardware and software [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes, Bitcoin-only device [source] | Yes, Bitcoin-only device [source] | Yes, Multi and Bitcoin-only editions [source] | Yes, Multi and Bitcoin-only editions [source] | Yes (Blockstream lists it as Bitcoin-only) [source] | Yes (Blockstream lists it as Bitcoin-only) [source] | Yes, optional Bitcoin-only firmware [source] | Bitcoin wallet app only; no altcoin support seen, but "Bitcoin-only" is not stated on the pages checked unverified |
| Air-gapped signing | Yes, PSBT via MicroSD or NFC [source] | Yes, QR or MicroSD; runs on 3×AAA batteries [source] | No (USB only; the microSD card is for backups) [source] | No (USB or Bluetooth) [source] | No (Blockstream's own table: no air-gapped transactions; no camera) [source] | Yes, QR camera; air-gapped firmware upgrades [source] | Yes, Air-Gapped Mode [source] | Yes, sign via QR or files (USB drive/microSD) [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, incl. multisig spending policies (COLDCARD Co-Signing) [source] | Yes, incl. multisig spending policies (COLDCARD Co-Signing) [source] | Yes, registers multisig setups on the device [source] | Yes, registers multisig setups on the device [source] | Yes, registers up to eight multisig configurations [source] | Yes, registers up to eight multisig configurations [source] | Yes, PSBT multisig [source] | Yes, as a cosigner (import config; coordinate in Sparrow, Nunchuk etc.) [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, BIP-39 passphrase [source] | Yes, QWERTY keyboard for long passphrases [source] | Yes, optional passphrase [source] | Yes, optional passphrase [source] | Yes, BIP39 passphrase [source] | Yes, BIP39 passphrase [source] | Yes, passphrase (hidden) wallets [source] | Yes, never stored on device [source] |
Quick orientation
- Fully air-gapped (QR or memory card): COLDCARD Mk5 (MicroSD/NFC) and Q (QR, MicroSD), Jade Plus (QR camera), Keystone 3 Pro (Air-Gapped Mode), Passport Prime (QR and files).
- Cable or Bluetooth only: BitBox02 / Nova and Jade Core.
- No hardware secure element: Jade Core and Plus use Blockstream's blind-oracle "virtual secure element". The others list one or more secure chips.
- Multi-coin with Bitcoin-only firmware option: BitBox02 / Nova and Keystone 3 Pro.
- Discontinued: the COLDCARD Mk4 is no longer sold but still receives firmware (source).
Device details
COLDCARD Mk5 by Coinkite
Replaces the Mk4, which is no longer sold but still gets firmware. See the July 2026 seed-generation advisory below before using any COLDCARD. Product page: https://coldcard.com/mk5
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $219 [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | Gorilla Glass screen, numeric keypad (size/resolution not stated on product page) unverified |
| Connectivity | MicroSD, NFC, USB-C, Virtual Disk [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, two: Microchip ATECC608 + Maxim DS28C36B [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Source code public since 2018 (licence terms not checked here) [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes, Bitcoin-only device [source] |
| Air-gapped signing | Yes, PSBT via MicroSD or NFC [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, incl. multisig spending policies (COLDCARD Co-Signing) [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, BIP-39 passphrase [source] |
COLDCARD Q by Coinkite
The most feature-rich COLDCARD. See the July 2026 seed-generation advisory below. Product page: https://coldcard.com/q
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $319 [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | 3.2" LCD, 320×240, full QWERTY keyboard [source] |
| Connectivity | QR scanner, dual MicroSD, NFC, USB-C; USB/NFC data can be irreversibly blocked [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, two: Microchip ATECC608 + Maxim DS28C36B [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Source code public since 2018 (licence terms not checked here) [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes, Bitcoin-only device [source] |
| Air-gapped signing | Yes, QR or MicroSD; runs on 3×AAA batteries [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, incl. multisig spending policies (COLDCARD Co-Signing) [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, QWERTY keyboard for long passphrases [source] |
BitBox02 by BitBox (Shift Crypto)
Easy microSD backup in addition to (optional) written recovery words. Product page: https://bitbox.swiss/bitbox02/
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $167 [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | 128×64 white OLED, capacitive touch sensors (diagonal not stated) [source] |
| Connectivity | USB-C (desktop and Android) [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, dual-chip design with ATECC608B secure chip [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Yes, firmware fully open source [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes, Multi and Bitcoin-only editions [source] |
| Air-gapped signing | No (USB only; the microSD card is for backups) [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, registers multisig setups on the device [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, optional passphrase [source] |
BitBox02 Nova by BitBox (Shift Crypto)
Successor to the BitBox02 with iOS support and a certified secure chip. Multisig guide checked was written for the BitBox02; Nova support assumed from shared firmware (unverified). Product page: https://bitbox.swiss/bitbox02/nova/
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $196 [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | 128×64 white OLED with glass top (diagonal not stated) [source] |
| Connectivity | USB-C and Bluetooth LE (for iPhone/iPad) [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, OPTIGA Trust M V3, EAL6+ certified [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Yes, firmware fully open source [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes, Multi and Bitcoin-only editions [source] |
| Air-gapped signing | No (USB or Bluetooth) [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, registers multisig setups on the device [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, optional passphrase [source] |
Blockstream Jade Core by Blockstream
Cheapest device here. The PIN is protected by Blockstream's blind oracle rather than a secure-element chip. Product page: https://blockstream.com/jade/
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $99 [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | 1.9" IPS LCD, 320×170 colour [source] |
| Connectivity | USB-C, Bluetooth [source] |
| Secure element | No hardware SE: "virtual secure element" (blind-oracle PIN server) [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Yes, fully open source [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes (Blockstream lists it as Bitcoin-only) [source] |
| Air-gapped signing | No (Blockstream's own table: no air-gapped transactions; no camera) [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, registers up to eight multisig configurations [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, BIP39 passphrase [source] |
Blockstream Jade Plus by Blockstream
Adds a camera, battery and metal body to the Jade Core. Product page: https://blockstream.com/jade/
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $169 (store); $169.99 on the product overview page [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | 1.9" IPS LCD, 320×170 colour [source] |
| Connectivity | USB-C, Bluetooth, camera (QR), SD card / USB drive via JadeLink [source] |
| Secure element | No hardware SE: "virtual secure element" (blind-oracle PIN server) [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Yes, fully open source [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes (Blockstream lists it as Bitcoin-only) [source] |
| Air-gapped signing | Yes, QR camera; air-gapped firmware upgrades [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, registers up to eight multisig configurations [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, BIP39 passphrase [source] |
Keystone 3 Pro by Keystone
Multi-coin by default with an optional Bitcoin-only firmware; fingerprint sensor and self-destruct on tamper. Product page: https://shop.keyst.one/products/keystone-3-pro
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $149 (pre-order, 1-year coverage) [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | 4" LCD touchscreen, 480×800 [source] |
| Connectivity | USB-C listed; Air-Gapped Mode; microSD slot (card not included). QR camera not stated on the pages checked [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, three secure elements [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Yes ("100% open source") [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes, optional Bitcoin-only firmware [source] |
| Air-gapped signing | Yes, Air-Gapped Mode [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, PSBT multisig [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, passphrase (hidden) wallets [source] |
Passport Prime by Foundation
Also does 2FA codes, security keys and encrypted files. Foundation's Envoy app is single-sig only. Product page: https://foundation.xyz/passport-prime/
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $349 [source] |
|---|---|
| Screen | 3.5" IPS touchscreen, Gorilla Glass [source] |
| Connectivity | USB-C, NFC, Bluetooth (QuantumLink), camera for QR [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, security processor (Microchip SAMA5D2) + secure element [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Yes, open-source hardware and software [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Bitcoin wallet app only; no altcoin support seen, but "Bitcoin-only" is not stated on the pages checked unverified |
| Air-gapped signing | Yes, sign via QR or files (USB drive/microSD) [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, as a cosigner (import config; coordinate in Sparrow, Nunchuk etc.) [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, never stored on device [source] |