Bitcoin hardware wallet comparison
14 current devices. Each cell links to the manufacturer page it came from.
Specs as checked on 2026-10-26 on each manufacturer's own site; every cell links to the page it came from. Prices change often and exclude shipping and tax. Anything we could not confirm on a manufacturer page is marked unverified.
Jump to: Trezor vs Ledger in detail · Bitcoin-only & air-gapped devices in detail
| Spec | Trezor Safe 3 | Trezor Safe 5 | Trezor Safe 7 | Ledger Nano S Plus | Ledger Nano X | Ledger Flex | COLDCARD Mk5 | COLDCARD Q | BitBox02 | BitBox02 Nova | Blockstream Jade Core | Blockstream Jade Plus | Keystone 3 Pro | Passport Prime |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (USD, maker's store) | $59 [source] | $129 [source] | $249 [source] | $69 [source] | $99 [source] | $249 [source] | $219 [source] | $319 [source] | $167 [source] | $196 [source] | $99 [source] | $169 (store); $169.99 on the product overview page [source] | $149 (pre-order, 1-year coverage) [source] | $349 [source] |
| Screen | 0.96" monochrome OLED, 128×64, two buttons [source] | 1.54" colour touchscreen, 240×240, Gorilla Glass 3, haptics [source] | 2.5" colour touchscreen, 520×380, Gorilla Glass 3 [source] | 1.1" monochrome OLED, 128×64, two buttons [source] | 1.1" monochrome OLED, 128×64, two buttons [source] | 2.8" E Ink touchscreen, 480×600, Gorilla Glass [source] | Gorilla Glass screen, numeric keypad (size/resolution not stated on product page) unverified | 3.2" LCD, 320×240, full QWERTY keyboard [source] | 128×64 white OLED, capacitive touch sensors (diagonal not stated) [source] | 128×64 white OLED with glass top (diagonal not stated) [source] | 1.9" IPS LCD, 320×170 colour [source] | 1.9" IPS LCD, 320×170 colour [source] | 4" LCD touchscreen, 480×800 [source] | 3.5" IPS touchscreen, Gorilla Glass [source] |
| Connectivity | USB-C [source] | USB-C (also has a microSD slot) [source] | USB-C and Bluetooth (can be switched off); Qi2 wireless charging [source] | USB-C (desktop and Android; no iOS) [source] | USB-C and Bluetooth (BLE 5.2), works with iOS [source] | USB-C, Bluetooth (BLE 5.2), NFC [source] | MicroSD, NFC, USB-C, Virtual Disk [source] | QR scanner, dual MicroSD, NFC, USB-C; USB/NFC data can be irreversibly blocked [source] | USB-C (desktop and Android) [source] | USB-C and Bluetooth LE (for iPhone/iPad) [source] | USB-C, Bluetooth [source] | USB-C, Bluetooth, camera (QR), SD card / USB drive via JadeLink [source] | USB-C listed; Air-Gapped Mode; microSD slot (card not included). QR camera not stated on the pages checked [source] | USB-C, NFC, Bluetooth (QuantumLink), camera for QR [source] |
| Secure element | Yes, EAL6+ certified chip [source] | Yes, EAL6+ certified, NDA-free [source] | Yes, three chips: TROPIC01 (auditable SE) + EAL6+ Optiga SE + STM32U5 MCU [source] | Yes, ST33K1M5, CC EAL6+ [source] | Yes, ST33J2M0, CC EAL5+ [source] | Yes, ST33K1M5, CC EAL6+ [source] | Yes, two: Microchip ATECC608 + Maxim DS28C36B [source] | Yes, two: Microchip ATECC608 + Maxim DS28C36B [source] | Yes, dual-chip design with ATECC608B secure chip [source] | Yes, OPTIGA Trust M V3, EAL6+ certified [source] | No hardware SE: "virtual secure element" (blind-oracle PIN server) [source] | No hardware SE: "virtual secure element" (blind-oracle PIN server) [source] | Yes, three secure elements [source] | Yes, security processor (Microchip SAMA5D2) + secure element [source] |
| Open-source firmware | Yes ("open-source security and design") [source] | Yes [source] | Yes ("100% open-source code") [source] | Partly: apps and SDK are open source; parts of Ledger OS tied to the SE are closed (NDA) [source] | Partly: apps and SDK are open source; parts of Ledger OS tied to the SE are closed (NDA) [source] | Partly: apps and SDK are open source; parts of Ledger OS tied to the SE are closed (NDA) [source] | Source code public since 2018 (licence terms not checked here) [source] | Source code public since 2018 (licence terms not checked here) [source] | Yes, firmware fully open source [source] | Yes, firmware fully open source [source] | Yes, fully open source [source] | Yes, fully open source [source] | Yes ("100% open source") [source] | Yes, open-source hardware and software [source] |
| Bitcoin-only edition | Yes, separate Bitcoin-only edition [source] | Yes, separate Bitcoin-only edition [source] | Yes, separate Bitcoin-only edition [source] | No Bitcoin-only edition listed (multi-coin device) [source] | No Bitcoin-only edition listed (multi-coin device) [source] | No Bitcoin-only edition listed (multi-coin device) [source] | Yes, Bitcoin-only device [source] | Yes, Bitcoin-only device [source] | Yes, Multi and Bitcoin-only editions [source] | Yes, Multi and Bitcoin-only editions [source] | Yes (Blockstream lists it as Bitcoin-only) [source] | Yes (Blockstream lists it as Bitcoin-only) [source] | Yes, optional Bitcoin-only firmware [source] | Bitcoin wallet app only; no altcoin support seen, but "Bitcoin-only" is not stated on the pages checked unverified |
| Air-gapped signing | No (USB-C only) [source] | No (USB-C only) [source] | No (USB-C or Bluetooth) [source] | No (USB-C only) [source] | No (USB-C or Bluetooth) [source] | No (USB-C, Bluetooth or NFC) [source] | Yes, PSBT via MicroSD or NFC [source] | Yes, QR or MicroSD; runs on 3×AAA batteries [source] | No (USB only; the microSD card is for backups) [source] | No (USB or Bluetooth) [source] | No (Blockstream's own table: no air-gapped transactions; no camera) [source] | Yes, QR camera; air-gapped firmware upgrades [source] | Yes, Air-Gapped Mode [source] | Yes, sign via QR or files (USB drive/microSD) [source] |
| Multisig | Yes, as a cosigner via third-party wallets (e.g. Electrum, Sparrow); not in Trezor Suite [source] | Yes, as a cosigner via third-party wallets; not in Trezor Suite [source] | Yes, as a cosigner via third-party wallets; not in Trezor Suite [source] | Yes, Bitcoin app supports registered multisig wallet policies [source] | Yes, Bitcoin app supports registered multisig wallet policies [source] | Yes, Bitcoin app supports registered multisig wallet policies [source] | Yes, incl. multisig spending policies (COLDCARD Co-Signing) [source] | Yes, incl. multisig spending policies (COLDCARD Co-Signing) [source] | Yes, registers multisig setups on the device [source] | Yes, registers multisig setups on the device [source] | Yes, registers up to eight multisig configurations [source] | Yes, registers up to eight multisig configurations [source] | Yes, PSBT multisig [source] | Yes, as a cosigner (import config; coordinate in Sparrow, Nunchuk etc.) [source] |
| BIP39 passphrase | Yes, up to 128 characters [source] | Yes, up to 128 characters, on-device entry [source] | Yes, up to 128 characters [source] | Yes, temporary or attached to a second PIN [source] | Yes, temporary or attached to a second PIN [source] | Yes, temporary or attached to a second PIN [source] | Yes, BIP-39 passphrase [source] | Yes, QWERTY keyboard for long passphrases [source] | Yes, optional passphrase [source] | Yes, optional passphrase [source] | Yes, BIP39 passphrase [source] | Yes, BIP39 passphrase [source] | Yes, passphrase (hidden) wallets [source] | Yes, never stored on device [source] |
Scroll the table sideways on small screens.
How to read this table
- Secure element: a tamper-resistant chip that makes it harder to extract keys from a stolen device. Jade instead uses a "virtual secure element" (a blind oracle server). That holds up against physical extraction only if the oracle isn't compromised too.
- Open-source firmware: whether the code that handles your keys can be publicly reviewed. Ledger publishes its apps and SDK but keeps parts of its OS closed under the chip vendor's NDA, by its own account.
- Bitcoin-only edition: less code, less attack surface. Several makers sell the same hardware with Bitcoin-only firmware.
- Air-gapped signing: transactions move by QR code or memory card, never over a cable or radio, during signing.
- Multisig / passphrase: whether the device can act as one key of an m-of-n wallet (usually coordinated in software like Sparrow), and whether it supports an optional BIP39 passphrase.
Picking one
There is no single best device. Buy from the manufacturer or an authorised reseller, then choose on what matters to you: a big screen for checking addresses, air-gapped use, Bitcoin-only firmware, or a mix of vendors for multisig. Any reputable device here, set up carefully with a well-protected backup, is far safer than coins left on an exchange. See the self-custody checklist.